Quick Links

Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Main Navigation


Home > breadcrumbs: >


Ajax Loading Image


Common Core State Standards

October 17, 2012

The New Illinois Learning Standards

Incorporating the Common Core

Realizing Illinois
  • Fewer, clearer, higher
  • Internationally benchmarked
  • 21st Century Skills
  • Evidence‐based

The Illinois State Board of Education has adopted new Math and English Language Arts standards for K‐12 education known as the New Illinois State Learning Standards Incorporating the Common Core. The goal is to better prepare Illinois students for success in college and the workforce in a competitive global economy.

Why new standards?
  • Our expectations for what students must know and be able to demonstrate were different in 1997 when Illinois adopted the current standards.
  • The new standards aim to provide clear, consistent academic benchmarks with “fewer, clearer and higher” academic standards for essential learning and skills. The standards were developed while considering the standards of top performing countries and the strengths of current state standards.
  • The 2010 state standards provide benchmarks for academic progress (skills and knowledge) that students should have at the conclusion of each grade level. This will allow teachers to establish the best approach to help their students meet those standards.
  • Students and parents will clearly understand the knowledge students are expected to attain each year.
How will the new state standards be implemented?

The process to fully implement new standards touches numerous systems including assessment, curriculum, professional development, instruction and various support components such as RtI. As the details for implementation are determined, the many reform efforts and initiatives underway will be considered to ensure the work is aligned and coordinated. It is anticipated the development and implementation will span over the next eighteen to twenty four months with varying phases of work:

  • PHASE I: Adoption, Communication, and Coordination (June‐End of 2011 school year)
  • PHASE II: Communication, Resource Design, and Design of Implementation System (ongoing)
  • PHASE III: Transition, Implementation, and Technical Assistance (ongoing)
The transition process should begin with local review and discussion. The new assessment system will be in place 2014-15.

For more information on the Common Core State Standards, log onto www.corestandards.org.

Back To Top